Author Topic: Offering an idea  (Read 603 times)

Linkpy

• View Profile
Offering an idea
« on: May 09, 2016, 08:06:29 am »
I was thinking, back then I played Rawbots.

I'm a programmer, and I love programming. But.. visual programming is not for me. So, maybe a programming language in Rawbots can be good, with a "CPU Part" for using it, no ? It may be Lua, very easy to include in a game and easily extensible.

What do you think of my idea ?

PS : I think I'm not the only one who has the idea lol

MarvinMan

• Automation Expert
  • Experienced Member
    • View Profile
Re: Offering an idea
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2016, 08:41:32 am »
Yeah, that idea seems to come up everytime future development or the programming system are discussed. It certainly would make complex behaviours a wwhole lot easier to implement, but I wouldn't want to loose the hardware level VP system we have now.

In the current game, you can implement simple state machines, or even a fully functional microcontroller core if you need that sequential, branching behaviour.

Sleeping_Owl

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2016, 04:54:24 pm »
Rawbots should keep visual programming system, it is really good for simple bots and seems to be more accessible to players that have no "real" programming experience. So default programming mode should be more casual VP.

I like the idea of script executor VP tile with multiple inputs, it can easily fit existing VP model.

Somewhat related but simpler thing to do is VP tile for text math expression. Current math implementation makes relatively simple calculations take several screens. Most people are used to see math as text like "a + sin(b) - 2 * c^2" not web of VP tiles. Such part would decrease code size of my bots by half or even more.

MarvinMan

• Automation Expert
  • Experienced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2016, 05:13:19 pm »